What’s Cookin’? Kale Chips

Last summer, when a friend of mine came for a visit she brought kale chips to have with her lunch. I had not heard of these and was intrigued. They were crisp and tasty. What a great alternative to potato chips! Since we do not live close to Whole Foods (that’s where these particular ones came from) I was not tempted to pick up these delicious kale chips. So I settled for tortilla chips.

A few weeks ago, I came across this recipe for kale chips and decided to give it a try.

Kale Chips

1 Bunch of Kale – remove thick part of stem
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/4 to 1/2 tsp Salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Wash and dry kale. Place kale into a gallon-sized plastic bag. Add oil, cheese and salt to kale. Close the bag and shake/massage kale until coated with oil and cheese. On a parchment lined baking sheet, spread kale in a single layer with no pieces overlapping. Bake 10-15 minutes until edges are brown. Let cool and serve immediately.

The first time I made these I stored them in a plastic container and put the lid on them. By the next morning they were soggy – still delicious, but not crispy. I made another batch and just left them in a bowl on the counter and they were still crispy in the morning. I’ve heard that dehydrating them rather than baking them helps to keep them crispier longer as well as keep all the yummy nutritious stuff intact.

Experiment with seasonings that appeal to you. We’ve tried oregano, but the overall taste was missing something, I think it needed garlic or cheese as they were on the dry side. I’m not going to give up on trying new flavors as we really enjoyed the first recipe, plus they are a much better alternative to chips!

 

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Cookin’? Kale Chips

  1. bresco150 says:

    So here’s my question, how long did it take you to bake an entire bag of kale? My husband saw these on tv and wants me to make them for us, but I just keep thinking to myself about the single layer of kale and how much I’ll be able to get on a cookie sheet at one time and it stops me from making them.

    • Jackie says:

      It would depend on how big of a baking sheet you use. I used an industrial sized baking sheet (roughly 12×17). The bag of kale that I had came from a wholesale club (I don’t remember how much was in the bag) and it made 4 batches. I probably should have gotten 5 batches because my first two batches did have some overlapping – they still turned out fine though. It doesn’t take long since they only bake for 10-15 minutes; however, I did not do the whole bag in one day. I think I made half the bag one week and half the next week. I stored the unused kale in its original bag in the refrigerator leaving the air in the bag as that helps to keep it fresh and closed it with a clip/close pin. Hope this helps! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

