The Ugly Dragon

Have you ever opened your mouth and became surprised by the sounds/words that seemed to spew from your lips?  You know the time when you are sure you grew horns, your eyes turned red and you breathed fire.  I’ve found myself in that situation more than I would like.  After the smoke lifts I ask myself, “What and who was that?” AND “Where did that come from?

The simple answer: SIN.

The long/hard answer: My inability to wholeheartedly rely on Christ for the strength and wisdom I need for every minute of every day.

While that reality makes me sad it doesn’t get me down in the dumps because I know and believe that Christ is a loving, patient, gentle, forgiving God.  He is what I need to strive to become like.  Yes, I am going to fail and when I do I need to refocus my eyes on Christ and know that I am a work in progress and He’s not finished with me yet!

God is glorified when I realize I need him because I cannot do it on my own.  It’s all a part of the sanctification process – chipping and chiseling to bring me closer to perfection.  (Isaiah 64:8)

I will not reach perfection on this earth, but can only wait with great anticipation of when I can live without sin in heaven with my Maker, the Lord Jesus Christ!

Until then, I need to make every attempt to use gentle words (Proverbs 15:1) and exhibit the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23).  Easier said than done, but definitely easier when I am walking closer with God.

Post inspired by the Gentleness Challenege @ Women Living Well Ministries.
 

This entry was posted in Life, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

