New Hobby

Well, it’s actually one of the curmudgeons’ (A.K.A. my husband’s) new hobby, but I certainly enjoy the finished product – homemade sauerkraut!  It tastes so much better than store bought, which probably isn’t really fermented.  Eating fermented foods is quite beneficial for your health.

We started eating our first batch this past weekend (6 days ago) and it is half gone!  We make a gallon’s worth at a time.

I must say that I have eaten a majority of the kraut, but it’s so delicious.  I’ve always enjoyed sauerkraut, but this is so much better than any that I’ve had before – or maybe that’s the pregnancy speaking.  I haven’t had cravings with this pregnancy, but I’m sure my husband can attest that sauerkraut is becoming a craving for me.  The other night I had a bowl of kraut as a snack – at 8:50pm!!  I also add it to my scrambled eggs for breakfast – I know it sounds weird, but don’t wrinkle your nose until you’ve tried it.  Just saute a little red onion and sauerkraut in butter and then add eggs and scramble – yum!  🙂  And tonight’s dinner was pork and sauerkraut.

Batch #2 is underway.  It’s a mix of red and green cabbage.  It’s supposed to turn out pink!

If you have any recipe ideas for using sauerkraut I’d be willing to try them out!

This entry was posted in Crunchiness, Experiments, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Hobby

  1. Andy says:

    I love that it looks like you cleared the entire floor just for that jar of sauerkraut.

Leave a Reply

