Finding a Balance Between Mary and Martha

I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to be a homemaker.  I used to think that all a homemaker did was cook and clean – you know taking care of the home.  I thought that sounded easy; I did that when I worked a full-time job.  Adding two active boys to the mix definitely slows me down but I still have all day to make sure meals are made, the laundry is taken of and the house is cleaned.  Easy enough, right?  If you’re a maid, maybe, but I’m a homemaker and that’s not all that’s required of me. Even if the dishes are done, the laundry is put away and the floors are spotless, if our house is not filled with love I’ve failed.  A home is not a building you live in, it’s what you make of the environment within those walls.

Before we had kids, even after our first son was born I stayed on top of all the household chores.  It was important to me to make sure (especially if I knew people were coming over) that the house was clean and presentable (being Martha).  After our second son became mobile it was more difficult to keep up with the daily tasks.  I became frustrated with myself for not getting everything done and I quickly began to burn out.  Through the encouragement of a dear friend and the awesome grace and mercy of my Heavenly Father, my heart and attitude began to change.  I have finally come to realize that my house is going to be messy at times and that’s okay as long as my family is taken care of and their needs are met (being Mary).

Finding the balance between these two – Martha & Mary – is a daily struggle for me.  If I start cleaning I tend to keep cleaning and not tend to the children, aside from their immediate needs.  Then some weeks I just want to be a Mary and the house goes to shambles but as a family we have a blast!  My goal is to find a healthy balance of being Martha and being Mary.

Until I find that balance, if you want to visit you are welcomed to come on over just don’t expect June Cleaver to answer the door – we are living and loving life!

But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.  Joshua 24:15

Please visit this blog that a friend forwarded to me at the time as I was writing this post.  http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/motherhood-as-a-mission-field?md5=5cd7b50d37565f2318bee0dac1a2eec8

This entry was posted in Life, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding a Balance Between Mary and Martha

  1. JC says:

    I am happy to read this today. There has been a lack of balance at my house this week. So, be warned you are visiting Mary tomorrow. I’ll try to make sure the toilets are clean 😉

Leave a Reply

