Soap Experiment

Ever since I found out that Cole has food allergies, I have gotten into the habit of reading ingredients lists.  It has become a ‘hobby.’  I not only read food labels but ALL product labels – personal hygiene, cleaning products, anything and everything that has an ingredients list.  But I don’t stop there.  If there are words/acronyms that I don’t know (and there always are) I look them up and find out why they are included and if there are side effects.  Yes, I know I am crazy and I’m okay with that. 🙂  This obsession of mine has changed the way we eat and live.

My latest kick is the soap we use in the shower/bath.  The soaps tend to dry out our skin, maybe it’s just the winter months, but even with a humidifier we still have dry skin.  And my shampoo sometimes bothers my nasal passages.  So I started looking into alternatives for our soap and shampoo.  A friend of mine had mentioned a shampoo soap bar which led me down the path to goat’s milk soap.  We have used goat’s milk soap in the past for washing hands and occasionally for showering but it was not a common practice, until now.  I looked into Zum Bar and A Wild Soap Bar and found that their soaps are all natural with no additives.  After reading some of the reviews and learning that others use these bars from head to toe I thought we could give it a try.  So for the past week that’s what we’ve been doing, head to toe with a bar of soap.  I know it sounds strange, but it lathers just like shampoo and regular bars of soap, and we feel cleaner after using them.  Now that we have one product that does everything, we can eliminate all the different bottles that clutter up the shower!  Which goes along with our idea that items should have dual purposes.

And while we are becoming minimalists, we are helping change the world.  We purchased our soaps through a company that helps transform impoverished women into self-sufficient entrepreneurs.  Check out Soap Hope.

This entry was posted in Crunchiness, Experiments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soap Experiment

  1. JC says:

    I gave it a shot today with my TJ’s soap. I think I might like this idea and I’m glad you shared the link because I couldn’t remember what you said the name of the soap was when I was looking for it online today 🙂

  2. Lora says:

    good info… I will be checking out that website and product!

Leave a Reply

